Miner Error: cannot find block data

Hi guys,

So I finally got my first rig setup and decided to test out mining on one GPU. I downloaded and setup Claymore CryptoNote AMD GPU Miner v10.2 to test out mining some good 'ol Monero. Unfortunately, I’m getting the following error accepting shares:

XMR: - SHARE FOUND - (GPU 0)
cannot find block data:
{“id”:4,“jsonrpc”:“2.0”,“result”:null,“error”:{“code”:-1,“message”:“Lowdifficultyshare”}}
cannot convert blob data

This is my very first attempt at GPU mining, so please advise what I can do to resolve this. Thanks!

does this help?

Thanks. I tried that earlier before posting and it said something about not recognising the command. I’ll see if I can replicate and post it here…

Make sure you are using the new Cryptonight7 algorithm, if you are using the old one, unpredictable results may arise.

Stay Fishy.

So I decided to switch to Ethereum instead and got positive results:

I’m actually loving the hashrate as its stock! So no need to mod the bios. I also installed Trixx and was able to get the temperature down to 60-61 by increasing the fan speed to 50% rather than auto.

Thanks, please advise what I need to add and where I need to add it. If you need further info, please let me know.

All good, the software you might like to try is xmr-stak:

Grab the one for your platform and when choosing to mine Monero, be sure to select “monero7” as the algorithm changed about a month ago. Also make sure the pool you are using has also updated, I noticed some pools havn’t updated yet.

Stay Fishy

Thanks, I’ll give it a go later. What’s a good pool that you can recommend?

For mining pools, I prefer the larger ones like: https://miningpoolhub.com/

However, I know other people prefer smaller pools for the chance of larger rewards.

It’s a preference thing really, as mining is like a lottery.

Stay Fishy