About the MINING & HARDWARE category

Got questions about mining coins? Drop them here!

Do you still consider 1060/1070’s a viable purchase at this time? Especially the new P106 cards that are coming out.

Peter,

Im new to the Bitcoin world. I’ve purchased 5 Bitcoin and a couple Alt Coins…but I want to know about mining. Specifically…how to build a rig and how to start mining. I’ve watched a couple YouTube videos and read a couple article so I have an idea on how to start but I would appreciate your input. What is the initial investment ($$$) for creating a mining rig?

@ThreeAndDone I’m going to start adding content to the mining and hardware category at @peter request. since you’ve asked how to get started, that is where I will start. Please stick around and keep an eye out for posts from me.

GTX 1070 its the top ROI right now…dont buy mining specific cards, they will have a warranty of just 6 months and if you want to resell then after you cant sell in the gaming second hand market!!

2000-2500$ window to build a 6 cards rig!! GTX 1060 in this case!

I think the 1060’s have a way better ROI atm

66% the performance for 50% the cost.

The ROI may be faster but look at the earnings over 1 year and 1.5 years. You’ll start to see a huge gap in earnings between the 1060 and 1070.

Look at the return on $10,000 worth of 1060’s vs $10,000 worth of 1070’s

If you have the room, the 1060’s smoke the 1070’s on returns.
Not per card but per dollar, that’s what the ROI calc tells you.
You’ll also use 33% at least less energy.

With undervolting you’re energy goes down under 50% since a 1060 only needs 65W for 22 Mh/s
That’s why I’m reviewing a couple of different quotes this weekend :wink:

after i download mining software, from pool / github my antivirus “Bitdefender” will Flag it as Trojan :man_facepalming: